I survived hide and seek

I just finished reading this article, titled Why your kids shouldn’t play hide and seek, from http://www.momtastic.com, that presented an interesting view of a childhood game that many of us grew up with. Hide and seek used to be one of my favorite games when I was young, along with a nighttime version we called “sneaks.” The article suggested that we consider the negative consequences of the game such as promoting secretive play and encouraging children to hide and not come out, not to mention the fact that younger children may not be able to differentiate between hiding for real and hiding for pretend. The article did present an interesting opinion that I had never heard before, but I’m just not convinced that hide and seek could be detrimental to any child’s psychological development. I played hide and seek, and I survived.

Click here to read the full article.

Leave a Reply

